Fashion: My 90’s Fashion Obsession, Pt. 1

079da4a0-d7e5-0131-6c80-0aa0f90d87b4

My 90’s Fashion Obsession, Pt. 1

This will have to be a four part series because I’m always rocking some 90s trend, and they are too glorious to be jammed into one post. This time, I’m going to focus on jellies.

This is a trend that my mother and boyfriend do not understand. My mom thinks of them as shapeless, plastic things. She doesn’t consider them real shoes. And my boyfriend can’t quite grasp the need to own 6 pairs of jelly sandals. I couldn’t reassure him that I would stop buying them. And I get that there are cons to jellies. They supply no support or cushion to your foot. Some break easily. I once walked up steps to board a plan and my glitter thong jelly flip-flop broke. I walked barefoot to my seat. There’s also the fact that clear pairs can yellow. But, I believe that the pros (trendy, versatile, inexpensive, easy to walk in) outweigh the cons!

For anyone wanting to try out this trend, let me assure you that you can look trendy and cool while wearing this throwback shoe. Even Golden Globe award winners strut the streets in jellies.

Here’s a look at some of the sandals I own:

3485316-p-multiview

Image Credit, via Zappos

Option #1: I paired these white Michael Kors sandals with a sheer sleeveless top, H&M slim fit pants, and a watch. They are no longer in stock at Nordstrom, but no worries. These little angels are available on Zappos in white and black for $69.00.

 

ac829572b48334c20587a7b9785d7218

Option #2: I wore these blush DSW gladiator jellies by Dirty Laundry with black skinny jeans, a pink floral kimono, and a tank. Price? $19.95.

1451491417-13275200

 

Option #3: I own these Michael Kors tongue sandals in a sold out orange, which always adds a pop of color to my navy or denim dresses. You can purchase the same style from Macy’s in colors like Raspberry, Gunmetal, or Gold.

8907535482910Image, via Office

Option #4: I bought a pair of enclosed glitter JuJu jellies with a mint colored heel while in a Canadian Saks Off 5th. If you happen to be at the Outlet Collection at Niagara, check the center aisle for these darling sandals. If you’re anywhere else and can’t find JuJu sandals, look on eBay.

Featured Image, via Bustle. I recommend you read Bustle’s 2014 article about jellies.

Thanks for reading! Comment down below if you’re a jelly lover like me.

One comment

Leave a comment