Books: Boyfriend Reacts to Red Queen

22328546

Featured Image via GoodReads

Boyfriend Reacts to Chapters 1-7 of Red Queen

Around Father’s Day, I convinced my boyfriend to order Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard from Barnes and Noble, which you can purchase here. It is the first of the 25 year old’s fantasy series. I thought it would be a splendid idea for both of us to read something that was out of our element. I’m typically a Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han kind of girl. And he’s a Russell Westbrook, Grand Theft Auto kind of guy. So, I thought it would fun to jot down his comments and initial response to chapters of Red Queen.

If you’ve read it, maybe you shared similar opinions. If you can get your partner to read it, I promise it’ll give you a lot to discuss. After this sentence, all thoughts belong to a 23 year old man. Enjoy!

Chapter 1:

“What time period is this?”

Chapter 2:

“Is the ‘I’ a girl or a guy?”

“Where do these mystical powers come from? They have telekinesis and whatnot.”

“Well, that’s unfortunate that he has to go to war. It’s a sad society.”

Thoughts on Mare being a thief/pickpocket? “I guess you gotta do what you gotta do.”

Chapter 3:                  

“The book progresses quickly. Aveyard talks about one thing, and then she moves the story onto the next idea, one paragraph or page later. They’re always making moves.”

“I picture The Hunger Games with the capital, rich people, and the outsiders, where people are hungry and disheveled. Though, it’s sometimes hard to visualize.”

“Instead of shipping themselves through the black market, Kilorn should just tough it out and go to war.”

“There needs to be more fluff in the dialogue. Less charging into towns, more conversations between Gisa and Mare about the deal being a terrible idea.” 

Chapter 4:

“Lots of action. Sense the fear in the town as a Red. I still don’t know how these people have superpowers, and Reds don’t.”

“I don’t know why Gisa thought it was a good idea to picket pocket because she had her entire career ahead of her, especially during a crazy crisis.”

“Farley should’ve taken into consideration the fact that Reds work under Silver rule, immediately endangering them. Some people might say she’s a terrorist, but I just think she’s looking for equality.”

Chapter 5:

Author’s transitions are a little weird. Chapter 5 doesn’t start with the ending of chapter 4. I have no idea how they got back to the village.”

“Pretty low-key chapter, I think.”

“The new guy is mysterious, probably some foreshadowing there (Note: I gave him a little nudge on that idea, based on the title of the book.)”

It’s cool that the brother is in the organization, but why was he being so cryptic?”

“We know Mare is going to end up working for these people (Scarlet Guard). You know that’s happening.”

Chapter 6:

“We knew this guy put in the good word for her. Cal probably only brought her to the city to marry her, and everyone is going to be stunned.”

Chapter 7:

I don’t know what that whole lightening shield was, but she’s a Silver turned into a Red. I’m interested in seeing what happens in the following chapters.”

“How could she trust Cal so much when she just met him yesterday?”

“The water girl (nymph) has a cool power, but the metal girl has the best one. She’s like Magneto.”

“Mare didn’t seem awkward until the moment she stood in front of the Royals and Houses and said, “Hi.”

Final comments? “Overall, the market-chase scene was the most exciting part. I need more twists! Her newfound power was a great surprise. I would like more of that. I would give the first quarter of this book a B.”

Comment below about your thoughts on the beginning of Red Queen. Chapters 8-15 haven’t been read as of yet. As soon as they are, you’ll see a Pt. 2. Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment